News

KBC HEADQUARTER ACHIEVES SILVER


The KBC headquarters at Havenlaan in Brussels received a silver Cycle Friendly Employer certificate from Mikaël Van Eeckhoudt, the director of Fietsersbond. After a self-evaluation, an expert from Fietsersbond came by for an audit. The expert examined how the KBC branch scores on various aspects of bicycle policy.

In recent years, KBC's head office has invested heavily in cycling infrastructure, bicycles for staff and services for cycling employees. The easily accessible, spacious and secure bicycle storage, as well as the new showers and changing rooms for the staff, scored high. Visitors can properly park their bicycles at the main entrance.

Thanks to an advantageous wage exchange, employees of KBC can lease a bicycle of their choice for their commute. They receive the maximum bicycle allowance of 0.24 euros per km. At the Brussels head office, the staff's bicycles are subjected to an annual technical inspection.

KBC also participates in Bike to Work, the programme of Fietsersbond that encourages employees to cycle to work.

Fietsersbond advises KBC to invest in the coming years in a coordinated bicycle policy plan to tap the full cycling potential of its staff. More bicycle parking facilities and a sustained awareness raising of all employees are important initiatives on the way to a golden certificate.

THE FLEMISH GOVERNMENT OBTAINS 2 SILVER CYCLE FRIENDLY CERTIFICATES


The Flemish Government has obtained a silver Cycle Friendly Employer Certificate for two sites: the Herman Teirlinck and Hendrik Conscience buildings in Brussels.

These branches of the Flemish Government score highly in the field of services for cycling staff with annual maintenance of bicycles, clear communication about bicycle facilities, possibilities to test bicycles, the lending of service bicycles and discounts from bicycle dealers. Staff members can easily borrow service bikes thanks to a smart key cabinet.

The bicycle manager of the Flemish Government is responsible for the implementation of the bicycle policy plan. Cycling to work has an important place in the project 'Healthy living at work', which runs throughout the Flemish Government.

“Cycle Friendly Employer certification is on the one hand a useful tool that sets clear goals for employers to create a cycling friendly climate. On the other hand, it is the icing on the cake. It is very nice to see that our efforts have paid off in order to obtain two silver certificates. Thanks to the clear feedback points for improvement, this further stimulates us to work out a path to go to full swing for the gold certificate.”
Sibert Verbinnen, Flemish Government

EASME IS BELGIUM’S FIRST 'CYCLE FRIENDLY EMPLOYER'


EASME, the Executive Agency for Small and Medium-sized Enterprises, is the first employer on Belgian soil to obtain a Cycle Friendly Employer Certificate. The agency of the European Commission was handed over a Bronze Cycle Friendly Employer Certificate.

EASME, located in the Brussels’ city centre, has 500 employees. No less than 100 employees are members of the EASME Cycling Group, a dynamic club of cycling minded colleagues who organise informative and fun activities about cycling. Since 2016, the #velomai campaign has been taking place annually with workshops, a competition, a bicycle breakfast and a bicycle lunch.

EASME scores high in terms of motivation, communication and service to cycling colleagues. Oliver Kozak, Senior Advisor and president of the EASME Cycling Group, is very pleased with the certificate but remains ambitious: “For EASME, obtaining a Bronze Cycle Friendly Employer Certificate is the crowning glory of our efforts in recent years. The feedback we received is valuable to make our company even more bicycle friendly. With regard to parking policy and bicycle-friendliness for customers, we can still make a lot of progress. It is our ambition to obtain a Golden Certificate by 2020!”.

Large employers interested

Fietsersbond, responsible for certification in Belgium, can audit and certify other interested companies in 2019. Some large employers such as KBC and the Flemish Government hope to be able to obtain their Cycling Friendly Employer Certificate this year.

What is CFE-certification?

The ‘Cycle Friendly Employer’-certificates or CFE-certificates are European quality labels for cycle friendly companies. These are awarded in 10 European countries including Belgium.

CFE-certification recognises the efforts of your company to get employees to cycle to work. The acquisition of a CFE-certificate makes your cycling investments visible to the outside world. Thanks to a CFE-certificate your company proves itself to be a sustainable employer who cares for healthy employees and mobility. Obtaining a CFE-certificate shows your company is ready for future challenges.

Which kinds of CFE-certificates are there?

CFE - Logo - Bronze

Companies with a basic cycling policy who have made demonstrable investments for the purpose of cycling to work qualify for a ‘Bronze CFE-certificate’. The first results of the policy and the investments must be concretely visible. The company will have created a solid foundation to promote cycling and it has stated ambitions to carry forward its cycling policy in the future.

CFE - Logo - Bronze

Companies that have an elaborated cycling policy and a clearly prevalent cycling culture may be eligible for a ‘Silver CFE-certificate’. Cycling is part of the DNA of the company, as demonstrated by a quality cycling infrastructure, an meaningful programme to stimulate cycling, investments in company bikes, and an increasing percentage of cycling employees.

CFE - Logo - Bronze

Companies with a quality, creative, innovative and complete cycling policy may be eligible for a ‘Golden CFE-certificate’. The company will demonstrate cycling as their prime transport choice by means of an excellent cycling infrastructure, a complete incentive package, frequent use of bikes on all levels and departments, and a management that actively supports cycling. This company serves as an example to other employers.

Who carries out the CFE-certification?

In Belgium CFE-certification is carried out by Fietsersbond. Fietsersbond's experts will examine whether an employer meets the criteria for cycle friendly companies determined on a European level.

With the Bike to Work-program Fietserbond has gathered 10 years of experience in work-related cycling and corporate cycling policy: www.biketowork.be

How is the CFE-certification carried out?

Self-evaluation

Stage 1: Self-evaluation

You will receive a self-evaluation form. This forms allows you to determine whether your company would score enough points to get certified. If your score per category, as well as your total scores, are sufficient, your company will qualify for Stage 2: Onsite audit.

No fees will be charged for self-evaluation.

Onsite audit

Stage 2: Onsite audit

Once your company has obtained a satisfactory score on the self-evaluation, you may apply for an onsite audit. An auditor from Fietsersbond will visit your company to verify how your company performs on 5 categories:

1. Information, communication and motivation
2. Coordination and organisation
3. Services
4. Infrastructure
5. Customer related cycling policy

The auditor will draw up a detailed report with a score and feedback for each criterion as well as a total score.

If your scores per category and your total score are satisfactory, your company is eligible for certification (Stage 3).

A fee will be charged for the service of the onsite audit. Consult the tariffs here .

Cycle Friendly Employer

Stage 3: Certificate

If the onsite audit results in a satisfactory total score and ample scoring for each category your company will be awarded a CFE-certificate. Depending on the scores your company can obtain a ‘Bronze CFE-certificate’, a ‘Silver CFE-certificate’ or a ‘Golden CFE-certificate’.

A CFE-certificate is valid for 3 years. In order to be allowed to use the CFE-logo, your company will pay for a 3 years's licence. Consult the tariffs here.

After a period of 3 years your company may apply again for CFE-certification.

What is the added value of the CFE-certification?

When your company obtains a CFE-certificate it raises its profile as a quality employer who cares for the health and wellbeing of his employees as well as their mobility. Gaining a CFE-certificate is a signal that your company is able to innovate in a sustainable way, to carry out structural changes and to meet future challenges.

Companies with certification will receive attention in the Fietsersbond's and Bike to Work channels:

  • Veelo magazines: 8500 issues
    Bike to Work - logo

    Veelomag.be website
    Bike to Work - logo

    Fietsersbond website
    Bike to Work - logo
  • Bike to Work-magazine: 15700 exemplaren
    Bike to Work - logo

    Website biketowork.be
    Bike to Work - logo

  • Bike to Work - logo Bike to Work: 2700 volgers

Tariffs

Company size Onsite audit 3-year licence CFE-logo
< 10 employees 400 € 150 €
10 – 50 employees 750 € 210 €
51 – 100 employees 900 € 300 €
101 – 250 employees 1 100 € 600 €
251 – 500 employees 1 300 € 750 €
501 – 1000 employees 1 600 € 900 €
> 1000 employees tailor-made offer tailor-made offer

All tariffs are VAT inclusive.

The price paid for the audit and license is used to cover personnel costs and the costs of running the CFE scheme. If there is any leftover on top of the basic costs, those are used entirely by Fietsersbond vzw to fund cycling advocacy projects.

Investment in cycling is cost-effective

Employees are more productive and healthier.

The number of sick days of employees cycling to work is 1/3 lower than that of the colleagues who do not cycle. Fewer sick days means more productive employees. Cycling employees have lower BMI-values (cyclists: 24.01/car users: 25.66) and obtain a noticeably higher score for wellbeing (cyclists: 60.61/car users: 54.61). Happy employees perform better on the work floor.

Lower costs

Parking bikes requires less space than parking cars: on the parking space for one car (12m2) 7 bikes may be parked.
More cycling employees reduces fuel costs for themselves or your business.

More punctual employees and better mobility

Cycling employees get to work more easily, will be able to find a parking place for their bike more quickly and arrive late less often. Cyclists relieve pressure on the roads to and from your company and make the company more accessible. Your company contributes to a more sustainable environment.

Testimonials

“Cycle Friendly Employer certification is on the one hand a useful tool that sets clear goals for employers to create a cycling friendly climate. On the other hand, it is the icing on the cake. It is very nice to see that our efforts have paid off in order to obtain two silver certificates. Thanks to the clear feedback points for improvement, this further stimulates us to work out a path to go to full swing for the gold certificate.”
Sibert Verbinnen, Flemish Government

“For EASME, obtaining a Bronze Cycle Friendly Employer Certificate is the crowning glory of our efforts in recent years. The feedback we received is valuable to make our company even more bicycle friendly. With regard to parking policy and bicycle-friendliness for customers, we can still make a lot of progress. It is our ambition to obtain a Golden Certificate by 2020!”
Oliver Kozak, Senior Advisor EASME & president of the EASME Cycling Group

Nouvelles

LE SIÈGE DE KBC OBTIENT LA MÉDAILLE D'ARGENT


Le siège de KBC, situé sur l'Avenue du Port à Bruxelles, a été certifié Cycle Friendly Employer niveau Argent, par le directeur du Fietsersbond, Mikaël Van Eeckhoudt. Après une auto-évaluation, un expert du Fietsersbond a visité l’entreprise pour y réaliser un audit. L'expert a examiné les résultats obtenus dans divers aspects de la politique cyclable.

Ces dernières années, le siège de KBC a beaucoup investi dans les infrastructures cyclables, les vélos pour le personnel et les services aux employés venant à vélo. Le parking vélos, facilement accessible, spacieux et sûr, ainsi que les nouvelles douches et vestiaires pour le personnel, ont été très appréciés. Et les visiteurs ? Ils peuvent garer leur vélo pile devant l'entrée principale.

Grâce à un échange salarial avantageux, les employés de KBC peuvent louer un vélo de leur choix pour effectuer leur trajet domicile-travail. Ils reçoivent une prime vélo de 0,24 euro par kilomètre. Au siège de Bruxelles, les vélos du personnel reçoivent un contrôle technique annuel.

KBC participe également à Bike to Work, le programme du Fietsersbond qui soutient les entreprise qui veulent mettre leurs employés en selle.

Fietsersbond conseille à KBC d'investir dans les années à venir dans un plan de politique cyclable coordonné afin d'exploiter pleinement le potentiel cyclable de son personnel. Davantage de parkings à vélos et une sensibilisation soutenue de tous les employés sont des initiatives importantes sur la voie de l'obtention d'un certificat d'or.

LE GOUVERNEMENT FLAMAND A OBTENU 2 CERTIFICATS CYCLE FRIENDLY EMPLOYER ARGENTÉS


Le Gouvernement flamand a obtenu des certificats Cycle Friendly Employer argentés pour 2 locations: les bâtiments Herman Teirlinck et Hendrik Conscience.

Les deux services du Gouvernement flamand obtiennent de très bons résultats en ce qui concerne les services au personnel cycliste, notamment l'entretien annuel des bicyclettes, la communication claire sur les installations cyclables, les essais de bicyclettes, le prêt de bicyclettes de service et les réductions chez les marchands de bicyclettes. Les membres du personnel peuvent facilement emprunter des vélos de service grâce à une armoire à clés intelligente.

Le gestionnaire de vélos du Gouvernement flamand est responsable de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action pour le vélo. Pédaler au travail occupe une place importante dans le projet "Vivre sainement au travail" qui est mis en œuvre dans l'ensemble du Gouvernement flamand.

"La certification Cycle Friendly Employer est d'une part un outil utile qui fixe des objectifs clairs pour les employeurs afin de créer un climat favorable au vélo. D'un autre côté, c'est la cerise sur le gâteau. C'est très agréable de voir que nos efforts ont porté fruit afin d'obtenir deux certificats d'argent. Grâce à la clarté des points d'amélioration, cela nous incite encore plus à trouver le chemin qui nous permettra d'obtenir le certificat d'or à plein régime".
Sibert Verbinnen, Gouvernement flamand

EASME EST LA PREMIÈRE ENTREPRISE ‘CYCLE-FRIENDLY’ EN BELGIQUE


EASME a eu l’honneur de se voir décerner le Bronze Cycle Friendly Employer Certificate. L’EASME, l’Executive Agency for Small and Medium-sized Enterprises, est le premier employeur en Belgique à recevoir le certificat d’entreprise cycle-friendly.

Cet organisme de la Commission européenne, implanté au cœur de Bruxelles, compte 500 collaborateurs, dont 100 collaborateurs sont membres du EASME Cycling Group, un club dynamique de collègues passionnés par le vélo, qui organise des activités ludiques et informatives à vélo. Depuis 2016, la #velomaicampagne a lieu chaque année et propose des ateliers, un concours, un petit-déjeuner vélo, un lunch cycliste, etc.

EASME a obtenu d’excellents résultats en matière de motivation, communication et services aux cyclocollaborateurs. Olivier Kozak, Senior Advisor et président du EASME Cycling Group, a réagi de manière très positive, sans toutefois oublier ses ambitions : « Pour EASME, ce Bronze Cycle Friendly Employer Certificate est le couronnement des efforts que nous avons déployés au cours de ces dernières années. Les retours que nous avons reçus sont précieux pour rendre notre entreprise encore plus adaptée au vélo. Il nous reste des progrès à faire en matière de politique de parking et d’infrastructures cyclistes pour les clients, par exemple. À l’horizon 2020, notre ambition est d’obtenir un Golden Certificate ! ».

Autres grandes entreprises intéressées

Le Fietsersbond, responsable de la certification en Belgique, peut aussi fournir une évaluation et une certification aux autres entreprises intéressées en 2019. Quelques grands acteurs, tels que la KBC ou le Gouvernement flamand, espèrent déjà décrocher leur certificat d’entreprise cycle-friendly cette année.

Qu’est-ce que la certification CFE ?

Le certificat ‘Cycle Friendly Employer’ (ou certificat CFE) est le label européen de qualité attribué aux entreprises soucieuses du vélo. Il est remis dans 10 pays européens, dont la Belgique.

La certification CFE reconnait les efforts consentis par votre société pour permettre à vos collaboratrices et collaborateurs de se rendre au travail à vélo. Obtenir un certificat CFE rend vos investissements cyclistes visibles aux yeux du monde extérieur. Par le biais du certificat CFE, votre entreprise se démarque en tant qu’organisation durable, qui porte une attention particulière à la mobilité et à la santé de son personnel. C’est le signe que votre société est prête pour l’avenir.

Quels sont les différents types de certificats CFE ?

CFE - Logo - Bronze

Les entreprises ayant adopté une politique cycliste de base et ayant consenti des investissements visibles dans les trajets vers le travail à vélo sont éligibles pour le ‘Certificat CFE de bronze’. Les premiers résultats de la politique et des investissements sont visibles concrètement. L’organisation a posé une base solide dans le but de promouvoir le vélo et a clairement manifesté son intention de poursuivre sa politique cycliste à l’avenir.

CFE - Logo - Bronze

Les entreprises ayant une politique cycliste développée et une culture cycliste clairement présente peuvent prétendre à un ‘Certificat CFE d’argent’. Le vélo est un composant majeur de cette entreprise, comme en prouvent l’infrastructure cycliste de qualité, un programme complet pour encourager l’usage du vélo, les investissements dans des vélos d’entreprise, le pourcentage croissant de cyclistes au sein du personnel, etc.

CFE - Logo - Bronze

Les entreprises ayant une politique cycliste créative, innovante, complète et de qualité peuvent recevoir un ‘Certificat CFE d’or’. La société montre que le vélo est le moyen de transport de prédilection, notamment par une excellente infrastructure cycliste, des incitants complets et performants, un usage quotidien du vélo à tous les niveaux de l’entreprise (départements et implantations), le soutien actif de la direction, etc. L’organisation est un modèle pour les autres sociétés.

Qui décerne le certificat CFE ?

En Belgique, c’est le Fietsersbond qui décerne le certificat CFE. Les spécialistes du Fietersbond vérifient si votre entreprise ou organisation remplit les critères européens.

Grâce à son programme Bike to Work, le Fietsersbond dispose de 10 ans d'expérience et d'expertise dans le domaine de l’usage du vélo vers le travail et de la politique vélo pour les entreprises.

Comment se déroule la certification CFE ?

Autoévaluation

Étape 1 : Auto-évaluation

Vous recevrez un formulaire d'auto-évaluation. Avec ce formulaire, vous pouvez vérifier vous-même si votre entreprise obtient un score suffisant pour obtenir un certificat. Si votre score global et les scores par catégorie sont suffisamment élevés, vous êtes éligible à l'Étape 2 : Audit sur site.

Aucuns frais ne seront facturés pour cette première phase exploratoire.

Audit sur place

Étape 2 : Audit sur site

Si votre entreprise obtient un score suffisant à l’auto-évaluation, vous pourrez demander un audit sur place. Un auditeur du Fietsersbond visite votre entreprise et vérifie les résultats de votre entreprise dans 5 catégories :

1. Information, communication et motivation
2. Coordination et organisation
3. Services
4. Infrastructure
5. Politique cycliste pour les clients et les visiteurs

L'auditeur réalisera un rapport détaillé avec un score et feedback pour chaque critère, ainsi qu’un score total. Si ces derniers sont suffisants, votre entreprise pourra demander un certificat CFE (étape 3).

L’audit sur place est un service payant. Consultez les tarifs ici.

Cycle Friendly Employer

Étape 3 : Certification Cycle Friendly Employer

Si vous obtenez un score total suffisant lors de l’évaluation sur place, votre entreprise se verra décerner un certificat CFE. Selon votre score, celui-ci peut être de bronze, d’argent ou d’or. Un certificat CFE est valable 3 ans.

Pour pouvoir utiliser le certificat et le logo CFE dans votre communication, votre société paie une licence qui est valable 3 ans. Consultez ici les tarifs.

Après 3 ans, votre entreprise peut faire une nouvelle demande de certificat CFE.

Quelle est la plus-value d’un certificat CFE ?

En recevant un certificat CFE, votre entreprise se profile comme un employeur de qualité, qui prête attention à la santé et au bien-être de son personnel, mais aussi à la mobilité durable. Décrocher un certificat CFE, c’est le signe que votre entreprise est capable d’innover, d’introduire des changements structurels et de relever les défis futurs.

Les entreprises certifiées peuvent compter sur une attention via les canaux de communication de Fietsersbond et Bike to Work :

  • Le Veelo-magazine: 8500 exemplaires
    Bike to Work - logo

    Veelomag.be
    Bike to Work - logo

    Fietsersbond.be
    Bike to Work - logo
  • Le magazine annuel Bike to Work: 15700 exemplaires
    Bike to Work - logo

    biketowork.be
    Bike to Work - logo

  • Bike to Work - logo Bike to Work: 2700 abonnés

Tarifs

Taille de l’entreprise Audit sur place Licence logo CFE 3 ans
< 10 collaborateurs 400,00 € 150,00 €
10 – 50 collaborateurs 750,00 € 210,00 €
51 – 100 collaborateurs 900,00 € 300,00 €
101 – 250 collaborateurs 1 100,00 € 600,00 €
251 – 500 collaborateurs 1 300,00 € 750,00 €
501 – 1000 collaborateurs 1 600,00 € 900,00 €
> 1000 collaborateurs Offre sur mesure Offre sur mesure

Les tarifs d'audit et de licence couvrent les frais de personnel pour la certification CFE et les frais d'exécution du programme. L'asbl Fietserbond investit l'intégralité de ses excédents financiers dans des projets en faveur des vélos.

Investir dans le vélo, ça paie

Des collaborateurs en meilleure santé et plus productifs

Par rapport à leurs collègues non cyclistes, les collaborateurs qui font du vélo pour aller au travail enregistrent 1/3 de jours de congé maladie en moins. Autrement dit, ils sont plus productifs.

Les valeurs IMC des collaborateurs cyclistes sont plus basses (cyclistes : 24,01/conducteurs : 25,66) et ils obtiennent de meilleurs scores en matière de bien-être (cyclistes : 60,61/conducteurs : 54,61). Les personnes qui se sentent bien dans leur peau livrent de meilleures performances professionnelles.

Moins de frais d’infrastructure

Les vélos prennent moins de place que les voitures : on peut garer 7 vélos sur 1 place de parking pour voiture (12 m²).

Des collaborateurs plus alertes et une meilleure mobilité

Les cyclocollaborateurs se rendent plus vite au travail, trouvent plus vite une place pour leur vélo et arrivent moins souvent en retard. Les cyclistes délestent les voies d’accès à votre entreprise et rendent le trafic plus fluide.

Et en prime, votre entreprise contribue à un environnement plus durable.

Témoignages

"La certification Cycle Friendly Employer est d'une part un outil utile qui fixe des objectifs clairs pour les employeurs afin de créer un climat favorable au vélo. D'un autre côté, c'est la cerise sur le gâteau. C'est très agréable de voir que nos efforts ont porté fruit afin d'obtenir deux certificats d'argent. Grâce à la clarté des points d'amélioration, cela nous incite encore plus à trouver le chemin qui nous permettra d'obtenir le certificat d'or à plein régime".
Sibert Verbinnen, Gouvernement flamand

"Pour EASME, ce Bronze Cycle Friendly Employer Certificate est le couronnement des efforts que nous avons déployés au cours de ces dernières années. Les retours que nous avons reçus sont précieux pour rendre notre entreprise encore plus adaptée au vélo. Il nous reste des progrès à faire en matière de politique de parking et d’infrastructures cyclistes pour les clients, par exemple. À l’horizon 2020, notre ambition est d’obtenir un Golden Certificate ! ».
Oliver Kozak, Senior Advisor EASME & président EASME Cycling Group